Brains Blog Roundtable: Values in Cognitive Science

Robyn Bluhm. Self‐fulfilling prophecies: The influence of gender stereotypes on functional neuroimaging research on emotion. Hypatia. doi.org/10.1111/j.1527-2001.2012.01311.x
Shen-yi Liao and Vanessa Carbonell. Materialized Oppression in Medical Tools and Technologies. American Journal of Bioethics. doi.org/10.1080/15265161.2022.2044543

[embedded content]


Website:
morgankthompson.com

Sam Liao

Sally Haslanger:  sallyhaslanger.weebly.com/research.html
We are delighted to announce the next in our series of Brains Blog Roundtables. The topic of this discussion is values in cognitive science!
Shen-yi Liao and Nat Henson. ‘Extremely Racist’ and ‘Incredibly Sexist’: An Empirical Response to the Charge of Conceptual Inflation. Journal of the American Philosophical Association. philpapers.org/rec/LIAERA
Jennifer Saul: uwaterloo.ca/scholar/j3saul
Peter Railton: lsa.umich.edu/philosophy/people/faculty/prailton.html

Uwe Peters

Elizabeth Anderson:  www-personal.umich.edu/~eandersn/
Shen-yi Liao and Bryce Huebner. Oppressive things. Philosophy and Phenomenological Research. doi.org/10.1111/phpr.12701

Morgan Thompson

Liam Kofi Bright, Daniel Malinsky, and Morgan Thompson. Causally interpreting intersectionality theory. Philosophy of Science. doi.org/10.1086/684173
Meena Krishnamurthy:  meenakrishnamurthy.net/
Keith Payne:  bkpayne.web.unc.edu/publications/

Other Works Cited:

Uwe Peters. Algorithmic political bias in artificial intelligence systems. Philosophy and Technology. philpapers.org/rec/PETAPB
Please join us and our great panelists, Sam Liao (University of Puget Sound), Uwe Peters (University of Bonn and Cambridge University), and Morgan Thompson (Bielefeld University), for a great discussion! We talk about the difficulties in studying value-laden concepts, how values shape cognitive science inquiry, controversies surrounding implicit bias, and even some aesthetics!
Michael Stuart, David Colaço, and Edouard Machery. P-curving x-phi: Does experimental philosophy have evidential value? Analysis. doi.org/10.1093/analys/anz007
Patricia Hill Collins. Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment. Routledge. amzn.to/3I8joEc

Other Scholars Cited:

Morgan Thompson. Psychological Research on Racial Microaggressions: Community Science and Concept Explication. In Microaggressions and Philosophy. Eds. Lauren Freeman and Jeanine Weekes Schroer. Routledge. morgankthompson.com/research.html
Please see below for links to material cited in the video. Previous roundtables can be viewed at philosophyofbrains.com/category/roundtables.
Katherine Phillips. What is the real value of diversity in organizations? Questioning our assumptions. In S. Page (Ed.), The diversity bonus (pp. 223–245). Princeton: Princeton University Press. doi.org/10.1515/9781400888269
Valerie Soon:  valeriesoon.com/
Edouard Machery:  edouardmachery.com/
Shen-yi Liao, Aaron Meskin, and Joshua Knobe. Dual Character Art Concepts. Pacific Philosophical Quarterly. doi.org/10.1111/papq.12301
Peter Carruthers:  faculty.philosophy.umd.edu/pcarruthers/
Bryce Huebner:  brycehuebner.weebly.com/papers.html
Website: uwepeters.weebly.com
Website: liao.shen-yi.org